Certification Offerings

Certified Maintenance & Reliability Professional (CMRP)

The CMRP program is the leading credential for certifying the knowledge, skills and abilities of maintenance, reliability and physical asset management professionals. The CMRP exam is a thorough test of a broad scope of expertise measured against the universal standard. It was developed to assess professionals’ aptitude within the five pillars of the SMRP Body of Knowledge, which include: business and management, manufacturing process reliability, equipment reliability, organization and leadership, and work management.

The CMRP is accredited by the ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB), an independent third-party organization that evaluates certification programs and organization requirements on a regular basis. The CMRP exam is the only certification program of its kind accredited by ANAB under the ISO/IEC 17024 standard. Visit www.anab.ansi.org to learn more about accreditation.

Apply Now!

Certified Maintenance & Reliability Professional (CMRP) in Spanish

SMRPCO also offers the CMRP certification in Spanish. The certification process mirrors the process for the English CMRP exam, explained here. For more information related specifically to the Spanish CMRP exam, read below.

  • If you'd like to apply for the CMRP exam in Spanish, please fill out the specific Spanish CMRP application
  • The Spanish CMRP exam is only available at Pearson VUE testing centers.
  • Spanish-speaking proctors are only guaranteed at testing centers in native Spanish-speaking countries.
  • When scheduling your Spanish CMRP exam with Pearson VUE, please be sure to select the Spanish exam option.

Apply Now!

Certified Maintenance & Reliability Technician (CMRT)

The CMRT program is the leading credentialing program for the knowledge, skills and abilities of maintenance and reliability technicians. The certification assesses the proficiency of those responsible for preventative, predictive and corrective maintenance – multi-skilled individuals who play a critical role in the success of organizations worldwide. Earning the CMRT credential indicates that you have achieved a level of ability consistent with the requirements for competence on the job as a multi-skilled maintenance and reliability technician. SMRPCO recommends that applicants have a minimum of four years of experience as a maintenance and reliability technician before they apply and sit for the CMRT exam.

The CMRT exam tests competency and knowledge of specific tasks within four (4) domains: Maintenance Practices, Preventative and Predictive Maintenance, Troubleshooting and Analysis, and Corrective Maintenance.

For information about the CMRT exam changes occurring in August 2021, click here

Apply Now!

Certified Asset Management Assessor (CAMA)

The Certified Asset Management Assessor (CAMA) program was developed by SMRP and several international partners to assess an individual’s qualifications to be an auditor of asset management systems. The CAMA exam is managed by the World Partners in Asset Management, a separate entity partly owned by SMRP. For information on the CAMA exam, visit www.wpiam.com. Note, due to the global impacts of COVID-19, WPiAM will be offering some deferrals on CPD accrual and recertification. Please reach out to WPiAM directly for more information. 

Connect with us

Like or follow us to stay up-to-date with SMRP.



To develop and promote excellence in maintenance, reliability and physical asset management.

Contact us

Society for Maintenance & Reliability Professionals

3200 Windy Hill Rd, SE, Suite 600W
Atlanta, GA 30339, USA

[email protected]